Adding a CNAME record to an ENOISE managed domain

A CNAME record is a type of DNS record used to specify that a domain name uses the IP addresses of another domain, the “canonical” domain instead of resolving directly to an IP address.

Many hosted services, like Tumblr, Big Cartel, GitHub Pages, or Shopify, … just to name a few, allow you to set up a custom domain to point to your account with them, and the most common set up for this is using CNAME records.

Note that this will only work provided that your domain name is using our name servers. That is, your domain is set up to use our name servers: ns.mainnameserver.com and ns2.mainnameserver.com. If you registered your domain with us this is the default set up.

To add a new CNAME record you need to log in to the domain manager.

DNS icon in domain manager homepage
DNS management in the domain manager’s home page.

Once inside the domain manager you will find the DNS management feature where you can see all your existing records.

DNS management
DNS management page in the domain manager.

When creating a new CNAME record there are two things we need to know:

  1. What subdomain you want to use. For example, if you want to add a CNAME to use blog.example.com as your Tumblr’s blog custom domain, the subdomain would be blog. Note that you can not create a CNAME record for the root domain, so the subdomain field can not be empty.
  2. What Fully Qualified Domain Name (FQDN) will be used to resolve the chosen subdomain. Following the example above, this would be domains.tumblr.com.. Note that it is important that you add the dot at the end of the domain name (domains.tumblr.com. and not domains.tumblr.com) as otherwise it would be understood as a subdomain of your domain and not a domain outside.
Creating CNAME in the domain manager
Creating CNAME in the domain manager.

Click on the “Update DNS” button to save the new record.

Newly created CNAME record
Newly created CNAME record appears as pending.

The record should now appear in the list and show as pending. This indicates it has been changed recently and may not yet be visible across the internet. This can take up to 24 hours.